ROAD TRIP

7 Philippine Beliefs and Superstitions

Moon Night SkyFilipinos are naturally superstitious. Filipinos’ daily way of life is encompassed by countless sayings, proverbs, beliefs, and superstitions that have grown in number throughout the various regions and provinces in the country. These beliefs have come from the different sayings of our ancestors that aim to prevent danger from happening or to make a person refrain from doing something in particular.

These beliefs are part of our culture, for one derives their beliefs from the influences of what their customs, traditions and culture have dictated to explain certain phenomena or to put a scare in people.

Some are practiced primarily because Filipinos believe that there is nothing to lose if they will comply with these beliefs. We hear them from our parents and grandparents, even without scientific findings or logical reasons. Most often, they are coincidental and are usually referred to after the effect. Yet, superstitions are interesting components of the chemistry of Filipinos’ day in and day out activities.

blckctA black cat crossing your path means bad luck.

Many people in the Philippines believe that when a cat crosses their path, they should go back to their house and postpone their plan for the day because pushing with the plan may produce bad results. To some, the black cat means a warning that something life-threatening is about to happen.

Black-Wedding-Dress-New-Pics--amp--First-Fitting-The bride should never try on the wedding dress.

It is believed that if the bride tries on the wedding dress before the wedding takes place, the wedding will not come to pass. But how will the bride know if the gown perfectly fits?

Laura BarnettA single woman who sings while cooking will marry a widower.

Single women are often advised not to sing while cooking because they will marry a widower.

moon_phases_diagramThe phase of the moon is very important when planning very important events.

According to Filipino beliefs, the phase of the moon is crucial when planning something. Thus, it is better to find a job during the waxing period of the moon rather than during the waning period.

Sukob_Movie_Poster“Sukob”

This is like a curse. According to beliefs, one should not marry within the same year that an immediate family member also got married or when an immediate family member passed away. The repercussion of not following this belief is that bad luck will befall upon the newly-married couple’s life.

dropDropped utensils announce the arrival of a visitor.

When a person drops a fork while eating, this means that a male visitor is about to arrive. On the other hand, a female visitor is expected if a person dining drops a spoon.

No one is really certain as to why fallen utensils are omens for unexpected visitors, but it seems to be a widespread belief in other countries as well. The meaning even behind the specific utensils varies from country to country. Some believe that the direction of the handle indicates the direction from which the visitor is coming from.

family-photo-2Don’t clear the dining table unless everyone has finished eating.

If you do, you doom the last single dinner guest to a life of loneliness. Meal times are sacred. They’re central to just about any culture in the world. There is something intimate about satisfying a basic need alongside other people. Since the shared experience casts a certain bond over all the participants, clearing the dishes before everyone is finished somehow breaks that magic, leaving whoever who is not done eating out of the loop, and thus, live all by himself/herself permanently.

Mentioned above are just a glimpse of more than hundreds superstitions Filipinos have. They may be true; they may be not.

Undoubtedly, some of the superstitions are practiced by my friends, including me, to make an occasion a fun one. I don’t see any problem with them. Superstitions only tell us to be careful with whatever we want to do.

 

22 thoughts on “7 Philippine Beliefs and Superstitions

  1. Sabi nga nila, sabi po yan ng matatandang bulaan!!! Pero anu bang mawawala kung susundin yung mga pamahiin na normal namang ginagawa.

    Like

  2. In my own opinion, hindi ako naniniwala dito.. i have a pet cat na color black dati at araw araw kaming dinadaandaanan nun pero hindi kami minamalas. pero nung nagkaroon kami ng fighting fish, mas minalas kami. I think lahat ng to ay may kinalamaan sa Law of attraction o yung nangyayare ang mga bagay bagay base sa iniisip at pinaniniwalaan mo. pag positive thinker ka, pasitive din ang effects. at pag negative thinker ka, negative din. kung iisipin mo’ng mamalasin ka pag dinaanan ka ng itim na pusa, mamalasin ka talaga..

    Like

  3. Actually hindi ko alam kung maniniwala ako sa sabi sabi ng mga matatanda dahil halos ng mga kasabihan nagawa ko na ngauni’t wala namang nangyayari…. para sa akin kasi tayo ang gumagawa ng ating ikasasama sa sarili naten kaya minsan nangyayari ang mga sabi sabi ng mga matatanda. Ganun pa man Diyos parin ang makakapag sabi kung hanggang kailan tayo mabubuhay dito sa lupang ibabaw….. kaya enjoy our life and go with the flow sa mga nangyayari sa ating kinalalagyan… 🙂 salamat sa article

    Like

  4. Marami na akong pamahiin na naririnig at sinasabi sa akin ng mga magulang ko simula noong bata pa ako.Madalas ay kumakanta ako habang nag luluto pero hindi naman ako nakapangasawa ng isang balo. Nung gabi bago ako kinasal isinukat ko pa ang wedding gown ko pero natuloy pa din at masaya naman ang araw ng kasal ko. Nasa sayo yan kung paano mo patatakbuhin ang buhay mo, walang masama kung maniniwala tayo o hindi sa mga pamahiin na yan. Kailangan talaga na mag ingat tayo sa araw araw ng ating pamumuhay. Kung yung iba nagkakatotoo eh, malas lang hehe..

    Like

  5. Most of these beliefs are not realistic because some events happens even without the occurrence of these beliefs. Sometimes it intimidates people to accomplish something. We need to balance those things that we need to believe because there are definitely wrong beliefs and we must focus on the true and realistic things.

    Like

  6. sbinga ng matatanda sundin daw yung mga ganyang kasabihan wla namang mawawla syo kung sumunod ka depende na lng kung nanniniwala ka.

    Like

  7. matagal ko na naririnig itong mga ito
    galing ito sa mga magulang at mga matatanda hahaha!!
    siguro ok lng sundin ito wla nman mawawala eh :DD

    Like

  8. pag-oras mo na oras na talaga, hindi dahil may nakasalubong kang pusang itim. dame namin nyan sa bahay wala naman nangyayari sa amin.

    Like

  9. Lagi kong naririnig to sa ermat. erpat, at yung mga yumaong anti, uncle at lola ko. And to be frank, HINDI AKO NANINIWALA. Dahil (well, maraming dahilan):

    For 3 years, may alaga akong itim na pusa dati, pero hindi naman ako minalas. Nagkaroon pa rin ako ng tropa, chix, nakapag-aral sa kolehiyo, nagkaroon ng angas makipagbangasan ng mukha, naging ala-Lebron magbasketball, atr kung anu-anong kagandahanmg bagay sa buhay (with no intention na magyabang per se).

    Mas minamalas pa nga ako kung makita ko pa yung tropa kong maitim ang balak sa buhay eh.

    Wala ring kinalaman ang pag-ikot ng buwan sa paghahanap ko ng trabaho. Dahil kahit anong ikot pa yan, hindi pa rin ako makahanap nun. Pero nakasalba pa rin ako anyway.

    Ano, wag maglinis kagad ng la mesa habang may kumakain? Bakit yung mga nasa resto at fastfood na may kahati sa table? Minsan nga yung customer pa magsasbai pa mismo ng “kuya/ate, palinis naman nito” at take note… HABANG Kumakain yun?

    Eh bakit yung pinsan at pamangkin ko nun na lagi naming pinagliligpitan sa hapag-kainan eh nakapag-asawa? Take note ulit, mas bata pa sila kesa sa 23-anyos na kamalayan ko. (aplicable din ito sa mga kumakanta habang nagluluto)

    At yung… nahuhulog na kutsara/tinidor? Juskuday, halos araw-araw na ngang may nalalaglag na kustara sa twing kumakain ako, pero wala pa rin akong ka-date na chix no! LOL!

    Pero anyway, di na ko magkukumento sa paniniwalang may kinalaman sa kasal. Nah, wala sa isipan ko ang ganyan eh. HAHAHA!

    Like

  10. Nag-alaga ako ng pusang itim para patunayang kalokohan laang iyong malas-malas. Hindi rin ako nagpapaniwala sa mga pamahiin, pero amindao akong minsan e naniniwala ako sa malas. Kahit anong pagkumbinsi ko sa sarili ko gamit ang kukote, merong mala-cave man na pag-iisip na nag-uugnay ng walang kwentang bagay sa isang masamang pangyayari.

    Merong panahong nagpapahiyang ako. Halimbawa: Pag ako e nagbasketbol at sobra ang galing ko sa isang laro, iyun uli ang sinusuot ko -pampaswerte, ‘ika nga. Hehe.

    Like

  11. When I was a kid I was scared of ctossing paths win a black cat because of the said superstition. However when I grew up I realized how silly it all was. I never believed in superstition other than that

    Like

  12. Well actually I do not believe in those superstitions. Pero natawa ako when my gay friend cut our conversation when his spork fell off and he said “may padating na beki” HAHAHA!

    Like

Leave a Reply

